Ophthalmology is one of the core subjects in medicine.
Ophthalmology Department was established with the inception of Govt, Medical College, Nagpur in 1947. Dr. Premchandra was First Head of the department and is currently headed by Dr. A. H. Madan since 2009.
The Department Provides world class education in Ophthalmology to Undergraduate and Postgraduate Students with Four Degrees (M.S and three diploma (DOMS) MCI Recognized seats in the department. Hundreds of postgraduate Students passed out from the department till date are spread all over world working as Academicians i.e HODs, Professors,Lecturers and clinicians i.e general ophthalmologists, occuloplasty Surgeons, viteroretinal surgeons and cornea specialists .
The department has state of art diagnostic modalities such as OCT, FFA,PERIMETRY,A-SCAN,B-SCAN,AUTO-REFRACTION, FUNDUS CAMERA,YAG LASER ,GREEN LASER, for the benefit of patients.

Faculty Ophthalmology

Awards & Achievements

  • Dr. Anand Partani, PG student was university topper in May 2012.
  • Dr. Pooja Gupta, PG student was university topper in May 2013.
  • Dr. Bhushan Ghodke won Best Paper award in All India Conference in Ophthalmology in 2013
  • PG students won the national level quiz in ophthalmology in 2015.