Department of Psychiatry , GMC , Nagpur was established in 1981 . Since November 2009 Inpatient services became operable. Dr. Rajiv M. Haridas was the first Faculty appointed as Lecturer in Dept. of Psychiatry. Dr. Prashant G. Tiple is the first Professor of Department of Psychiatry, GMC, Nagpur and since 2011 heading the Department.